Chateau de l'Aumerade
Chateau l'Aumérade has a history stretching back 400 years. It is located on the Pierrefeu-du-Var plain in the heart of Provence. In the 16th century the château was owned by the Seigneur de Piegros who was advisor to King Henri IV. On the 15th February 1594, for supplying the Royal Court with wine, Maximilian de Béthune, the Duke of Sully and Prime Minster to Henri IV, planted a mulberry tree as well as plane trees - still growing in the gardens of the château today. The Aumérat family bought the estate in the 18th century, and changed its name to Château de l'Aumérade. The estate stayed in the Aumérat family until 1932, when it was acquired by Henri Fabre and his wife Charlotte. In 1955 they were awarded Cru Classé status, one of only 18 Provence estates to hold this prestigious title. The estate continues to be family owned, run today by Henri's granddaughter Marie-Christine Fabre-Grimaldi and her husband Vincent. Château l'Aumérade is part of the Fabre Domains, the largest family estate in the Var region. 300 hectares are under vine [80 of these Cru Classé], planted with Grenache, Syrah, Cinsault and Vermentino on clay and limestone soils from which 85% rosé, 10% red and 5% white wines are produced. These are stylish wines, and astonishing value for money, characteristically fruity reds and wonderfully dry and crisp rosés. They are presented in unique eye-catching bottles designed by Charlotte in 1956, who took inspiration from Emile Gallé's pâtes de verre vases, and the cuvées are named after her granddaughter – Marie-Christine.