Chateau Moulin Riche
Château Moulin Riche is a Cru Bourgeois estate located in the north-west of the Saint-Julien appellation. Its rich history dates back to 1638 when Bordeaux nobleman and member of the Bordeaux Parliament, Maître Jean de Moytié, owned a vineyard there which he called called Mont-Moytié. Iit was one of the first châteaux in the Médoc to produce wine. In 1740 the estate was owned by Blaise Antoine Alexandre de Gascq who renamed it Léoville. On de Gascq's death the property was divided into three parts, with his oldest son Pierre Jean de las Cases' share becoming Château Léoville Las Cases. His sister Jeanne inherited anther part and, through her daughter, Baron Jean-Marie de Poyferré's came to own the estate in 1840, when the Poyferré name was added to the property. The third part of the estate became Château Léoville Barton. The Château Léoville Poyferré estate was sold in 1865 to Armand Lalande, a wine merchant. Armand's son-in-law Edouard Lawton followed a year later, and it would remain in the Lawton family until 1920 when the present owners, the Cuvelier family purchased both Château Léoville Poyferré which had been ranked as second growth in the 1855 classification of the Left Bank, and Château Moulin Riche [which was part of the Poyferré estate] from them. It is headed up today by Sara Lecompte Cuvelier. Château Moulin Riche has 20 hectares under vine in a single block planted with 63% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Merlot, 7% Petit Verdot and 5% Cabernet Franc on Mindal gravel terraces with sandy-clay subsoil. The average age of the vines is 38 years. The wines are aged for between 12 and 18 months in a mixture of one and two year old oak barrels. The Moulin Riche style is elegant and well-structured, these are delectable ripe and round aromatic wines.